portland independent media center  
images audio video
newswire article reporting portland metro

human & civil rights | police / legal

ANALYSIS of COCL/DOJ assessments of City's Compliance on Police Use of Force

ANALYSIS of COCL/DOJ assessments of City's Compliance on Police Use
of Force by "Portland Copwatch"

This is a copy of the letter sent to the DOJ. the press and Portland city council on Monday 10/24/16
Portland Copwatch < copwatch@portlandcopwatch.org>

To:
Dennis Rosenbaum < rosenbaumandwatsonllp@gmail.com>Add contact, US Dept of Justice -- Adrian Brown < adrian.brown@usdoj.gov>Add contact, Bill Williams < Bill.Williams@usdoj.gov>Add contact, Brian Buehler < brian.buehler@usdoj.gov>Add contact, Jaclyn Menditch < jaclyn.menditch@usdoj.gov>Add contact, Jared Hager < jared.hager@usdoj.gov>Add contact, Jonas Geissler < Jonas.Geissler@usdoj.gov>Add contact, Knight, David (USAOR) < David.Knight@usdoj.gov>Add contact,  Laura.Coon@usdoj.govAdd contact, Phillip Johnson < Phillip.Johnson@usdoj.gov>Add contact, Seth Wayne < seth.wayne@usdoj.gov>Add contact, Community Oversight Advisory Board-Mandi Hood < mandi.hood@portlandoregon.gov>Add contact


Date Mon 12:43
Contact photo
Message Body
Portland Copwatch
(a project of Peace and Justice Works)
PO Box 42456
Portland, OR 97242
(503) 236-3065 (office)
(503) 321-5120 (incident report line)
 copwatch@portlandcopwatch.org
 http://www.portlandcopwatch.org

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ANALYSIS of COCL/DOJ assessments of City's Compliance on Police Use
of Force

October 24-- Today, Portland Copwatch released an analysis titled "Compliance Officer's 1st/2nd Quarter 2016 DOJ Assessment Report: City Listens to Secret Committees While Public Ones Implode; DOJ and COCL Trade Off Going Easy on PPB."

On October 1, the Compliance Officer/Community Liaison (COCL) posted its latest draft assessment of Portland's compliance with the US Department of Justice (DOJ) Settlement Agreement focusing on excessive police force against Portlanders. Once again, Portland Copwatch (PCW) has found useful information and recommendations alongside alarming revelations, inappropriate lenience toward the City, and unanswered questions.

The COCL's 1st/2nd Quarter Compliance Report ("Report") shows some improvement over the past Reports, but continues annoying trends such as failing to identify all persons whose roles are discussed. Alarmingly, the COCL (and DOJ) essentially sign off on letting officers get their stories straight after shootings. Significantly, the Report reveals how advisory groups closed to the public (the Behavioral Health Unit Advisory Council/BHUAC and the "Focus Group" on police oversight) received more attention from the City than the Community Oversight Advisory Board (COAB), which was created specifically to oversee the Agreement.

Also frustrating is the fact that the DOJ's scorecard, released on October 18, has significant differences in analysis from the COCL. Below, PCW examines the Report on these matters, looking at key points of information, and breaking out the COCL's analysis into "good, needs work, and say what?" categories established in our last analysis. (The draft Report can be found at < link to cocl-coab.org.)

PCW points to numerous issues including that the COCL signs off on officers not being separated after a deadly force incident for up to 6 hours, the DOJ's use of former Chief O'Dea as an example of noncompliance, overlooked information on shootings including one "involved" officer in the May 2016 incident who wasn't interviewed, and more.

The analysis notes that DOJ gave ratings higher than the COCL 17 times, while the COCL gave the Bureau higher ratings 14 times, creating confusion.

The full 9-page analysis is available at:
 http://www.portlandcopwatch.org/COCL_semiannual1016_pcw.pdf

For more information call
Portland Copwatch at 503-236-3065.

homepage: homepage: http://www.portlandcopwatch.org