portland independent media center  
images audio video
newswire article announcements portland metro

education | imperialism & war

"EQUAL ACCESS FOR COUNTER-RECRUITERS" Resolution Passes Unanimously

Thanks very much to everyone as we celebrate our collective victory!
Recruiter Watch PDX wants to thank Military & Draft Counseling Project - War Resisters League (Portland), and its coordinator John Grueschow, for diligently pursuing the "equal access" concern for at least the last five years. As many of you may already be aware, the "equal access for counter-recruiters" (NOT anti-war protesters in general, as originally portrayed in THE OREGONIAN article) successfully passed last evening with a unanimous 7-0 vote! Congratulations, Military & Draft Counseling Project! It was a pleasure collaborating with you on this issue.

There have been a number of articles in corporate media and a plethora of comments to said articles. For the reality, please refer to the actual text of the Equal Access Resolution which can be found at:
 http://www.pps.k12.or.us/files/board/Update_BR_Counter-Recruiter_Resolution.pdf

Recruiter Watch is looking forward to continue collaborating with Military & Draft Counseling Project - War Resisters League; American Friends Service Committee (Youth & Militarism and Peace Programs); Veterans for Peace, Chapter 72; and IVAW-Oregon in local truth-in-recruiting efforts. We are very excited to continue our very important truth-in-recruiting educational work in our customary respectful, sensitive manner. We continue to respect young people's right to self-determine the future that is best for them and their communities. We continue to advocate for young people's right to make informed decisions and to have options.

Thanks very, very much as well to all supporters in this endeavor. We could not have done it without your steady presence and e-mails and letters of support.

Please also remember to thank the School Board, and especially School Board member Martin Gonzalez, for doing the right thing in this matter.

School Board members' contact e-mail addresses are:
Ruth Adkins --  radkins@pps.net
Pam Knowles --  pknowles@pps.net
Matt Morton --  mmorton@pps.net
Trudy Sargent --  tsargent@pps.net
Bobbie Regan --  bobbie.regan@pps.net
Greg Belisle --  gbelisle@pps.net
Martin Gonzalez --  mgonzalez@pps.net

Student representative to School Board:
Henry Li --  hli@pps.net

Thanks again very, very much to everyone as we celebrate our collective victory!