portland independent media center  
images audio video
newswire article announcements portland metro

actions & protests | animal rights

Action Alert: Please Contact OHSU & ONPRC Administration and Staff!

During National Primate Liberation Week, activists around the country are voicing their disgust with the cruelty of vivisection. Here in Portland, OR, the focus remains on Oregon National Primate Research Center (ONPRC), home to some of the most notorious and cruel research in the country. Please take the time to write, call and email the vivisectors and administrators on this list and let them know how you feel about their sadistic research.
Take Action Against OHSU!

During National Primate Liberation Week, activists around the country are voicing their disgust with the cruelty of vivisection. Here in Portland, OR, the focus remains on Oregon National Primate Research Center (ONPRC), home to some of the most notorious and cruel research in the country. Please take the time to write, call and email the vivisectors and administrators on this list and let them know how you feel about their sadistic research.

Web links are provided for for you to learn about the horrific details of each individuals research.

Good Luck!


OHSU Contact:

President OHSU
Joseph Robertson Jr., MD
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd.
Portland, OR 97239-3098
Tel: (503) 494-8252
Medical OfficeTel: (503) 494-7891
 robertjo@ohsu.edu



ONPRC General Contact:

Oregon National Primate Research Center
Oregon Health & Science University
505 NW 185th Avenue
Beaverton, OR 97006-3448
Phone: 503-645-1141

Public Information Officer
Diana Gordon
503-690-5201
 gordondi@ohsu.edu

Press Officer
Jim Newman
503-494-8231
 newmanj@ohsu.edu

Director
Nancy Haigwood, Ph.D.
503-690-5500
 haigwoon@ohsu.edu


Executive Coordinator
Dana Morris, PMP
503-690-5298
 morridan@ohsu.edu


Associate Director of Administration
Richard Doughty
503-690-5314
 doughtyr@ohsu.edu


Manager, Human Resources
Jane Rosato
503-690-5211
 rosatoj@ohsu.edu


Associate Director, Division of Animal Resources
C.J. Doane, D.V.M.
503-690-5539
 doanec@ohsu.edu

Associate Director for Research
Charles Roberts, Ph.D.
503-690-5259
 robertsc@ohsu.edu

Director, Office of Research Advocacy
P. Michael Conn, Ph.D.
503-690-5297
 connm@ohsu.edu


Other ONPRC Researchers Past and Present:
** Indicates particularly horrific research or high ranking ONPRC researcher

Axthelm, Michael K
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Axthelm%2C+Michael+K&u_id=74
(503) 690-5236
 axthelmm@ohsu.edu

Banine, Fatima
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Banine%2C+Fatima&u_id=90
(503) 690-5536
 baninef@ohsu.edu

Bethea, Cynthia L
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Bethea%2C+Cynthia+L&u_id=148
(503) 690-5327
 betheac@ohsu.edu

** Cameron, Judy L
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Cameron%2C+Judy+L&u_id=246
 link to www.ohsu.edu
(503) 690-5270
 cameronj@ohsu.edu

Carbone, Lucia
 link to www.ohsu.edu

Colgin, Lois Ma
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Colgin%2C+Lois+Ma&u_id=324
(503) 690-5240
 colginl@ohsu.edu

**Conn, P Michael - Director, Office of Research Advocacy
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
 link to www.ohsu.edu
(503) 690-5297
 connm@ohsu.edu

Cornea, Anda N
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Cornea%2C+Anda+N&u_id=337
(503) 690-5293
 corneaan@ohsu.edu

Dissen, Gregory A
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Dissen%2C+Gregory+A&u_id=413
(503) 690-5382
 DISSENG@OHSU.EDU

** Doane, Cynthia J (C.J.) - Associate Director, Division of Animal Resources
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 690-5220
 doanec@ohsu.edu

Dubay, Christopher Joel
(503) 533-2408
 DUBAYC@OHSU.EDU

Ferguson, Betsy M
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Ferguson%2C+Betsy+M&u_id=507
(503) 533-2403
 fergusob@ohsu.edu

Fu, Xiao Wen
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Fu%2C+Xiao+Wen&u_id=552
(503) 614-3743
 fuxiao@ohsu.edu

**Grant, Kathleen A.
 link to www.ohsu.edu
 grantka@ohsu.edu
(503) 614-3742

Grigsby, Peta L
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Grigsby%2C+Peta+L&u_id=631
(503) 690-5286
 grigsbyp@ohsu.edu

Grove, Kevin L
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expert.asp?n=Grove%2C+Kevin+L&u_id=634
(503) 690-5380
 grovek@ohsu.edu

**Haigwood, Nancy L. - Director
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
 link to www.ohsu.edu
(503) 690-5500
 haigwoon@ohsu.edu

Hennebold, Jon D (Jon)
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 614-3720
 henneboj@ohsu.edu

Hess, David L
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Hess%2C+David+L&u_id=741
(503) 690-5347
 HESSD@OHSU.EDU

Hobbs, Theodore R
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Hobbs%2C+Theodore+R&u_id=756
(503) 690-5282
 hobbst@ohsu.edu

Jeffrey, Brett G
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expert.asp?n=Jeffrey%2C+Brett+G&u_id=841
(503) 533-2446
 jeffreyb@ohsu.edu

Kievit, Paul
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Kievit%2C+Paul&u_id=914
(503) 614-3718
 kievitp@ohsu.edu

Kohama, Steven G
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Kohama%2C+Steven+G&u_id=952
(503) 533-2448
 kohamas@ohsu.edu

Lewis, Sandra
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Lewis%2C+Sandra&u_id=1052
(503) 690-5356
 LEWISANN@OHSU.EDU

Lomniczi, Alejandro
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 690-5305
 lomniczi@ohsu.edu

Madden, Christopher J (Chris)
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 614-3772
 maddench@ohsu.edu

Matagne, Valerie J
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 690-5302
 matagnev@ohsu.edu

Mitalipov, Shoukhrat M
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 614-3709
 mitalipo@ohsu.edu

Molskness, Theodore
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 614-3776
 molsknes@ohsu.edu

Morrison, Shaun F
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 614-3770
 morrisos@ohsu.edu

**Neuringer, Martha D
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 690-5360
 NEURINGE@OHSU.EDU

Ojeda, Sergio R
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expert.asp?n=Ojeda%2C+Sergio+R&u_id=1348
(503) 690-5303
 ojedas@ohsu.edu

Pitzer, Mark R
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Pitzer%2C+Mark+R&u_id=1427
(503) 690-5388
 pitzer@ohsu.edu

Reddy, P. Hemachandra
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expert.asp?n=Reddy%2C+P.+Hemachandra&u_id=1470
(503) 614-3806
 REDDYH@OHSU.EDU

** Roberts, Charles T - Associate Director for Research
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expert.asp?n=Roberts%2C+Charles+T&u_id=1492
(503) 690-5259
 ROBERTSC@OHSU.EDU

Searles, Robert P
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 418-2736
 searlesr@ohsu.edu

Shiigi, Stanley M
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expert.asp?n=Shiigi%2C+Stanley+M&u_id=1619
(503) 690-5268
 SHIIGIS@OHSU.EDU

Slayden, Ov D
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expert.asp?n=Slayden%2C+Ov+D&u_id=1647
(503) 690-5320
 slaydeno@ohsu.edu

Smilkstein, Martin
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 690-5300
 smithsu@ohsu.edu

Song, Pingfang
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Song%2C+Pingfang&u_id=1674
(503) 690-5565
 songp@ohsu.edu

**Spindel, Eliot R
IDA Campaign:  http://www.vivisectioninfo.org/campaigns/spindel/
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Spindel%2C+Eliot+R&u_id=1689
 link to www.ohsu.edu
(503) 690-5512
 spindele@ohsu.edu

Stouffer, Richard L
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 690-5366
 STOUFFRI@OHSU.EDU

Urbanski, Henryk F
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 690-5306
 urbanski@ohsu.edu

Varlamov, Oleg
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Varlamov%2C+Oleg&u_id=1816
(503) 690-5259
 varlamov@ohsu.edu

Wright, Jay Wiland
 link to www.researchprofiles.collexis.com
(503) 690-5316
 WRIGHTJ@OHSU.EDU

Wu, Xuemei
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Wu%2C+Xuemei&u_id=1920
(503) 533-2445
 wux@ohsu.edu

Xu, Fuhua
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Xu%2C+Fuhua&u_id=1928
(503) 690-5335
 xuf@ohsu.edu

Zelinski, Mary B
 http://www.researchprofiles.collexis.com/ohsuv3/expertProfile.asp?n=Zelinski%2C+Mary+B&u_id=1958
(503) 690-5367
 zelinski@ohsu.edu


Disclaimer:
The information provided in this email is for information purposes only and is not provided to incite illegal activity of any kind.

homepage: homepage: http://pdxanimaldefenseleague.org


Video Interview Regarding Nicotene Research on Primates at OHSU 18.Oct.2010 15:43

Jim Lockhart

From my archives:

Video from January 23, 2008 when local members and supporters of In Defense of Animals held an educational outreach at the Oregon Health Science University Richmond neighborhood Family Health Center on the corner of SE 39th and Division in Portland Oregon.

Their purpose was to inform the public and workers at the Oregon Health Science University offices at that location about nicotine research performed by Eliot Spindel at the OHSU Primate Center.
For over 20 years Spindel has been receiving tax dollars to conduct nicotine experiments on monkeys, experiments which have devastating effects on these animals. Since 1992 the National Institute of Health (NIH) has given him $7.6 million for his research, money which will continue until 2012.

"Every time his funding runs out, he changes his experiment a little bit and gets funded again," said Matt Rossell, of In Defense of Animals."

This is a 7 minute video, which includes interviews with three of the participants:

According to a flyer handed out at the event, "Spindel implants nicotine pumps into the backs of pregnant monkeys, delivering daily doses of the addictive substance to the mothers so that he can cut their babies out at various stages of development and dissect their lungs."

Matt Rossell said that "this is a ridiculous experiment," that the money would be better spent providing smoking cessation education for pregnant women who are finding it difficult to quit smoking.

"This is coming at a time when OHSU just announced that they are shutting down all kinds of services, the dental clinics, outlying services for rural folks...why waste this money on nicotine research, torturing monkeys when we could use it to help people and keep these other clinics open?"

"The early experiment that were done misled people into believing that smoking wasn't as dangerous as it is. This is an example of how animal research doesn't work, that you can't use an animal reliably as a model for human disease, and there are certainly human patients that they can and are studying when it comes to nicotine." Matt can be reached at 503-249-9996 or  Matt@idausa.org.

In Defense of Animals asks the public to please let OHSU and the National Heart, Lung and Heart Institute of the National Institute of Health hear that you want these experiments stopped.