portland independent media center  
images audio video
newswire article questions portland metro

neighborhood news | police / legal


I recently got this email what the hell is this? Has anyone else got it? I wont open it for fear it is an application, or virus.

"Dear Sir/Madam,

we have logged your IP-address on more than 30 illegal Websites.

Please answer our questions!
The list of questions are attached.

Yours faithfully,
Steven Allison

*** Federal Bureau of Investigation -FBI-
*** 935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Room 3220
*** Washington, DC 20535
*** phone: (202) 324-3000

Download this as "

then it gives a file name..

Is this for real or just spam?

And just what the hell is an "illigal website?"
it's a scam 09.Dec.2005 16:41

helpful hint

That email is a scam email going around. You open the attachment, it's a virus. It has nothing to do with the FBI. They don't send you emails, they just arrest you out of nowhere.

It's spam, with a nasty virus attached 09.Dec.2005 16:44

Mr. Groovy

Just delete it, along with the similar emails from cia.gov. There are no "illegal Websites."

Even the FBI says so... 09.Dec.2005 17:16

non agente

HOWEVER 10.Dec.2005 06:10

Mike stepbystpefarm <a> mtdata.com

This should be watched carefully << gooogle type followup >>

If no story ever shows up about whoever this is being caught it probably means that they can't (that there is a technical reason why they can't track down whoever this is). That's because organizations like the FBI have no sense of humor about such things and the Federal "impersonation" charges applicable far more serious that minor scam/fraud charges slap on the wrist penalties.