portland independent media center  
images audio video
newswire article portland metro

police / legal

Deter commercial media excuses for not covering November 17th protests

An e-mail list of local TV reporters and reporters for the Oregonian. Please inform them all that the November 17th protest are extremely important local news and that they need to cover it. Please remind them of the August 22nd police brutality and ask them to document the event fairly. They are mainly corporate sellouts, but let them know that you will hold them accountable if they ignore the march.
Some links about the November 17th protest:

 http://portland.indymedia.org:8081/calendar/?display=zoom&event=969
 http://portland.indymedia.org/front.php3?article_id=32832&group=webcast
 http://portland.indymedia.org/front.php3?article_id=31580
 http://portland.indymedia.org/front.php3?article_id=33230&group=webcast
 http://portland.indymedia.org/front.php3?article_id=33011&group=webcast

Local commercial media reporters:

Deanna Connell -- KATU Reporter
 dconnell@katu.com

Eric Mason -- KATU Reporter
 emason@katu.com

Ed Teachout -- KATU Reporter
 edt@katu.com

Anna Song -- KATU Reporter
 asong@katu.com

Dan Christopher -- KATU Reporter
 danc@katu.com

Bob Heye -- KATU Reporter
 bobh@katu.com

Dan Tilkin -- KATU Reporter
 dant@katu.com

Paul Bukta -- KATU Reporter
 paulb@katu.com

Shellie Bailey-Shah -- KATU Reporter
 SBaileyShah@katu.com

Corinna Allen -- KATU Reporter
 callen@katu.com

Helen Raptis -- KATU Reporter
 helenr@katu.com

Jim Long -- Oregonian Investigative Reporter
 jimlong@news.oregonian.com
503-221-4351

Julie Sullivan-Springhetti -- Oregonian Investigative Reporter
 juliesullivan@news.oregonian.com
503-221-8068

Kim Christensen -- Oregonian Investigative Reporter
 juliesullivan@news.oregonian.com
503-294-5131

Brent Walth -- Oregonian Investigative Reporter
 brentwalth@aol.com
503-294-5131

Angie Chuang -- Oregonian Portland Team
 angiechuang@news.oregonian.com
503-221-8219

Bill Stewart -- Oregonian Portland Team
 billstewart@news.oregonian.com
503-294-7670

Gordon Oliver -- Oregonian Portland Team
 gordonoliver@news.oregonian.com
503-221-8171

Fred Leeson -- Oregonian Portland Team
 fredleeson@news.oregonian.com
503-294-5988 (City Hall)
503-294-4088 (Multnomah County)

Scott Learn -- Oregonian Portland Team
 scottlearn@news.oregonian.com
503-221-8564

Spencer Heinz -- Oregonian Portland Team
 spencerheinz@news.oregonian.com
503-221-8072

Janet Christ -- Oregonian Portland Team
 janetchrist@news.oregonian.com
503-294-5032

Anna Studenny -- Oregonian Portland Team
 annastudenny@news.oregonian.com
503-294-7642

Dee Lane -- Oregonian Portland Team
 deelane@news.oregonian.com
503-221-8528

Nicole Chvatal -- Oregonian Portland Team
 nicolechvatal@news.oregonian.com
503-294-7642

Bruce Sussman -- KGW Reporter
 bsussman@kgw.com

Randy Neves -- KGW Reporter
 rneves@kgw.com

Krista Vasquez -- KGW Reporter
 kvasquez@kgw.com

Joe Smith -- KGW Reporter
 jsmith@kgw.com

John Becker -- KGW Reporter
 jbecker@kgw.com

Kyle Iboshi -- KGW Reporter
 kiboshi@kgw.com

John Flick -- KGW Reporter
 jflick@kgw.com

Stephanie Stricklen -- KGW Reporter
 sstricklen@kgw.com

Vince Patton -- KGW Reporter
 vpatton@kgw.com

Dave Northfield -- KGW Reporter
 dnorthfield@kgw.com

Mike Donahue -- KOIN Reporter
 mdonahue@koin.com

Joel Iwanaga -- KOIN Reporter
 jiwanaga@koin.com

Margy Lynch -- KOIN Reporter
 mlynch@koin.com

Drew Mikkelsen -- KOIN Reporter
 dmikkelsen@koin.com

Christine Miles -- KOIN Reporter
 clmiles@koin.com

David Okarski -- KOIN Reporter
 dokarski@koin.com

Warren Petrie -- KOIN Reporter
 wpetrie@koin.com

Laurie Shilling -- KOIN Reporter
 lshilling@koin.com

Ray Summers -- KOIN Reporter
 rsummers@koin.com

Eric Taylor -- KOIN Reporter
 etaylor@koin.com

------

And, certainly, keep your senses open this Sunday and record your own news as well. The mainstream media is a shill for corporate propaganda, but it is still possible to use them to get the word out if you give some thought to your e-mail.

Solidarity!
here 16.Nov.2002 14:04

alittle easier

 dconnell@katu.com < dconnell@katu.com>;  emason@katu.com < emason@katu.com>;  edt@katu.com < edt@katu.com>; . asong@katu.com <. asong@katu.com>;  danc@katu.com < danc@katu.com>;  bobh@katu.com < bobh@katu.com>;  dant@katu.com < dant@katu.com>;  paulb@katu.com < paulb@katu.com>;  SBaileyShah@katu.com < SBaileyShah@katu.com>;  callen@katu.com < callen@katu.com>;  helenr@katu.com < helenr@katu.com>;  jimlong@news.oregonian.com < jimlong@news.oregonian.com>;  juliesullivan@news.oregonian.com < juliesullivan@news.oregonian.com>;  brentwalth@aol.com < brentwalth@aol.com>;  angiechuang@news.oregonian.com < angiechuang@news.oregonian.com>;  billstewart@news.oregonian.com < billstewart@news.oregonian.com>;  gordonoliver@news.oregonian.com < gordonoliver@news.oregonian.com>;  fredleeson@news.oregonian.com < fredleeson@news.oregonian.com>;  scottlearn@news.oregonian.com < scottlearn@news.oregonian.com>;  spencerheinz@news.oregonian.com < spencerheinz@news.oregonian.com>;  janetchrist@news.oregonian.com < janetchrist@news.oregonian.com>;  annastudenny@news.oregonian.com < annastudenny@news.oregonian.com>;  deelane@news.oregonian.com < deelane@news.oregonian.com>;  nicolechvatal@news.oregonian.com < nicolechvatal@news.oregonian.com>;  bsussman@kgw.com < bsussman@kgw.com>;  rneves@kgw.com < rneves@kgw.com>;  kvasquez@kgw.com < kvasquez@kgw.com>;  jsmith@kgw.com < jsmith@kgw.com>;  jbecker@kgw.com < jbecker@kgw.com>;  kiboshi@kgw.com < kiboshi@kgw.com>;  jflick@kgw.com < jflick@kgw.com>;  sstricklen@kgw.com < sstricklen@kgw.com>;  vpatton@kgw.com < vpatton@kgw.com>;  dnorthfield@kgw.com < dnorthfield@kgw.com>;  mdonahue@koin.com < mdonahue@koin.com>;  jiwanaga@koin.com < jiwanaga@koin.com>;  mlynch@koin.com < mlynch@koin.com>;  dmikkelsen@koin.com < dmikkelsen@koin.com>;  clmiles@koin.com < clmiles@koin.com>;  dokarski@koin.com < dokarski@koin.com>;  rsummers@koin.com < rsummers@koin.com>;  etaylor@koin.com < etaylor@koin.com>




Dear all:

I am moved to write all of you as I found the news coverage of August 22nd anti-war demonstration to be incorrect and biased. Tomorrow, Sunday November 17th, there will be another massive anti-war demonstration and I am hoping that the news media in Portland will strive to one, cover the story and two, cover the story fairly.

I am a married 37 year old male who works full time as a social worker and am strongly against the manipulative and imperialist policy of the Bush Administration. Often the media attempts to marginalize the demonstrators by showing the dramatic and freaky anarchists that also attend these demonstrations. Yes, it sells more advertisement, drama always does but this is dishonest. Why focus on the 1% when 99% are honest hardworking Americans that are shocked and appalled by war and sheepish nationalism.

I will be attending the Sunday demonstration as I am outraged that George Bush intentionally distracted the American voters with a war on Iraq. It was not coincidence it was strategy! A strategy of warmongering to win an election is nothing new but it is horribly unfair to our soldiers. They are not cannon fodder. Additionally it completely invalidates the Bush Administrations argument this is a preemptive war to protect Americans.

So I urge you to get good interviews. A war in Iraq could kill as many as 500,000 soldiers and innocent Iraqis. Likely, they will not be Americans just people unlucky enough to be born in another part of the world.

Sincerely,
me

Hooray for alittle easier 16.Nov.2002 14:15

greenman

Great letter!

A letter sent 16.Nov.2002 14:40

.

Dear Portland reporters,

There is a very large march in protest of the U.S. international policies which are leading towards a war with Iraq as well as oppressing millions of people throughout the world. This march and rally will begin at 1:00 PM Tomorrow (Sunday 17th) afternoon.

When thousands upon thousands of local people organize together to protest political wrongdoings it merits reporting in a news conduits purporting to serve the local populace. Please, provide fair and accurate coverage of this event if at all possible.

On August 22nd, when a protest was organized in response to an appearance of Bush Jr. in town, police brutalized many non-violent protesters including a 10 month old baby who was pepper sprayed. (  http://portland.indymedia.org:8081/a22/ ) If such actions occur again, please publicize them so that the public may express a just and informed response towards militarization against protesters.

Journalism is one of the most foundational and influential professions in a democracy. Please, provide the seriously crucial function within our society of researching and reporting information crucial to our civic (as well as extranational) responsibilities as democratic citizens.

A partial list of sponsors and endorsers of the march:
Oregon Physicians for Social Responsibility (503-274-2720)
Portland Peaceful Response Coalition (503-471-1535)
Families for Peace (503-227-0748)
Oregon Peace Institute
Oregon PeaceWorks
Jews for Global Justice (503-299-4772)
Women in Black
Women's International League for Peace and Freedom
East Timor Action Network/Portland (503-235-4986)
the Palestine Action Group (503 450 9910)
War Resisters League Portland
Peace and Social Concerns Committee of Multnomah Monthly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers)
Freedom Socialist Party
Radical Women
Unitarian Universalists Economic Justice Action Group
Student Activist Alliance
Portland Buddhist Peace Fellowship
Americans United for Palestinian Human Rights
Peace & Justice Works Iraq Affinity Group
the Portland Metro Chapter of the Pacific Green Party
et al

Thank you.