portland independent media center  
images audio video
newswire article portland metro

Derrick Jensen: Speaking at Powells TOMORROW: Friday ATTN: FANS OF DANIEL QUINN

Author Derrick Jensen is speaking tomorrow FRIDAY May 9, 2002 at Powell's on Hawthorne. 7:30 pm. Fans of Daniel Quinn, Michael Moore, and Frances Moore Lappe should not miss this! Jensen is the author of the new book "The Culture of Make Believe" as well as the bestsellers "A Language Older Than Words" and "Listening to the Land" ,  http://www.derrickjensen.org/ ,  http://www.culturechange.org/about_jan.htm
Author Derrick Jensen is in town, do not miss him!

Friday, May 10, 7:30 pm, Powell's Books on Hawthorne, 3723 SE Hawthorne Blvd. Portland, OR 97214, 503-238-1668

His new book is "The Culture of Make Believe" .

This is an amazing interview by Derrick Jensen:
 http://www.culturechange.org/about_jan.htm

****************************
The following is quoted from  http://www.derrickjensen.org/blurb.html :
Here are the blurbs for The Culture of Make Believe

"Derrick Jensen is a man driven to stare without flinching at the baleful design of our culture, which encourages us to honor those who wreak the most havoc on the world (and on human lives) and to scorn those who protest against the havoc as opponents of decency and good order. In fact, The Culture of Make Believe so explicitly reveals the intimacy between the murder of the world and "decency and good order" that I'm surprised any author would dare write it and any publisher would dare bring it to print. His analysis of our culture's predilection for hatred and destruction will rattle your bones."

-Daniel Quinn, author of Ishmael



"Derrick Jensen tears our illusions from us with his shocking yet graceful prose. It might numb us, but no. The Culture of Make Believe is a masterpiece. It stirs us with the excitement of being in a truer world, being our truer selves. Derrick Jensen is a public intellectual who who both breaks and mends the reader's heart."

-Frances Moore Lappe, author of Diet For A Small Planet



"Derrick Jensen is your basic human being, and he sees the world in the basic way all human beings should, but do not. The planet Earth is alive, period. Human beings are one of many living populations on the living Earth, period. Armed with a heart-stopping language older than words, Jensen is a mathematician, a comedian, a fierce critic of decent white male human history and its complex web of racism, sexism, hate; its greed and wanton disregard for life. Read this book. Get it for everyone you care about. Jensen's words are often difficult, but no one ever said facing the past and present of our culture would be a goddamn moonlit stroll down Memory Lane."

—Inga Muscio, author of Cunt: A Declaration of Independence


Here is my publisher's brief description of The Culture of Make Believe:

Derrick Jensen takes no prisoners in The Culture of Make Believe, his brilliant and eagerly awaited follow-up to his powerful and lyrical A Language Older Than Words. What begins as an exploration of the lines of thought and experience that run between the massive lynchings in early twentieth-century America to today's death squads in South America soon explodes into an examination of the very heart of our civilization. Readers of Jensen's earlier work will recognize his deft and startling interweaving of the deeply personal, the political, the historical, and the philosophical, as he attempts to understand the atrocities that characterize so much of our culture, from the 8,000 dead at Bhopal to the more than twenty million people enslaved today (more than came over on the dreaded Middle Passage), to the destruction of the natural world. The book makes clear that it is only through understanding these atrocities, and by feeling the sorrow and despair caused by them, then moving through that despair, that we will be able to make significant movement toward halting them. With The Culture of Make Believe, Jensen has written a book that is as impeccably researched as it is moving, with conclusions as far-reaching as they are shocking. After A Language Older Than Words, readers began calling Jensen the philosopher poet of the deep ecological movement. This new book, The Culture of Make Believe, will introduce a new wave of readers to this important writer and thinker.
**************************************

This quote is found on Daniel Quinn's web site in his recommended reading area. Daniel Quinn is an amazing author who wrote "Ishmael" , "The Story of B" , "Beyond Civilization" , and his latest "The Man Who Grew Young" among others.
----
 http://www.ishmael.org/Education/Readings/ :
Daniel Quinn's Annotated List of Suggested Readings

"A Language Older Than Words" By Derrick Jensen
This is what Franz Kafka said a book should be--"an axe for the frozen sea within us." The reader should be advised that this is both high praise and sincere warning: "Dangerous writing here. Proceed at your own risk." A truly wonderful and original work."

************************

homepage: homepage: http://www.derrickjensen.org/blurb.html

Recommended Reading 09.May.2002 09:57

Mulla Nasrudin

Check out some of Derrick Jensen's published writings on his web site  http://www.derrickjensen.org/cv.html

For example:
 http://www.derrickjensen.org/flappe.html
November 1999: "The Broken Promise of Democracy: An Interview with Frances Moore Lappé," in The Sun

 http://www.derrickjensen.org/backster.html
The Plants Respond: An Interview with Cleve Backster
published in "The Sun" July 1997

 http://www.derrickjensen.org/mrta.html
"Movemiento Revoluci˘nario Tupac Amaru" (in English) in Earth First! Journal
Murder in Peru: After the Lies and Betrayals . . .
published in "The Anderson Valley Advertiser"
April 30, 1997

 http://www.derrickjensen.org/stauber.html
WAR ON TRUTH: The Secret Battle for the American Mind
An Interview with John Stauber, Published in "The Sun"
March 1999

 http://www.derrickjensen.org/epstein.html
AN EPIDEMIC OF DECEPTION: WHY WE CAN'T TRUST THE CANCER ESTABLISHMENT: AN INTERVIEW WITH SAMUEL EPSTEIN
Published in "The Sun", March 2000

 http://www.derrickjensen.org/deloria.html
WHERE THE BUFFALO GO: HOW SCIENCE IGNORES THE LIVING WORLD: AN INTERVIEW WITH VINE DELORIA
Published in "The Sun", July 2000

 http://www.derrickjensen.org/mcches.html
FREE PRESS FOR SALE: HOW CORPORATIONS HAVE BOUGHT THE FIRST AMENDMENT: An Interview With Robert McChesney
published in The Sun September 2000

 http://www.derrickjensen.org/parent.html
CRIMES OF PUNISHMENT: AN INTERVIEW WITH CHRISTIAN PARENTI
Published in "The Sun", October 2000

 http://www.derrickjensen.org/zerzan.html
Enemy of the State: An Interview with John Zerzan
"You May Be An Anarchist And Not Even Know It"
Published in Utne Reader and in The Sun
September 1998

 http://www.derrickjensen.org/prechtel.html
April 2001: "Saving the Indigenous Soul: An Interview with Martin Prechtel," in The Sun

 http://www.derrickjensen.org/bales.html
THE NEW SLAVERY: AN INTERVIEW WITH KEVIN BALES
Published in The Sun, October 2001

 http://www.derrickjensen.org/stewart.html
Fall/Winter 2001-02: "Interview with Maori Elder Bruce Stewart," with Jeannette Armstrong, in Green Anarchy